Welcome to the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Page
The RWT Library and Knowledge Hub fully supports the Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust’s commitment to the equality, diversity and inclusion. This page will guide staff to current information and resources relevant to the topic, including links to recently published reports, current awareness bulletins, books, journals, leisure reading and much more.
Discovery - requires an Open Athens account to search
Request a Search of the Literature/Evidence Base
Too busy & need someone to run a literature search for you?
As long as it is for Trust/clinical work and not for an educational course/study,
please click on the 'Request a literature search' link below and give us as much detail as you can.
A search will then be undertaken by a member of the Library and Knowledge Service and you will be e-mailed the results. If you need to order any articles listed in the search results these can be done in liaison with the Knowledge Specialist
Request an article/document via our document supply system
Useful Organisations and Reources
- The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Employers Network The Employers Network is aNational Network committed to equality, diversity and social inclusion;supporting organisations to develop awareness, understanding and skills to promote equality and tackle discrimination.
- Equality and Diversity UK Offers a wide range of publications, training and networks.
- Equality and Human Rights Commision (EHRC) seeks to maintain and strengthen human rights, value diversity and challenge intolerance while identifying and tackling areas where there is still unfair discrimination or where human rights are not being respected. They deal with all aspects of equality and are a Non Departmental Public Body (NDPB), established under the Equality Act 2006.
- NHS Equality and Diversity Council The Council provides visible leadership on equality and diversity issues across the health service. Its purpose is to shape the future of healthcare – to help improve the access, experiences and health outcomes for all patients and communities, and to support the NHS to become a more inclusive employer by making full use of the talents of its diverse staff and the communities it serves.
- The Other Box The Other Box is an award-winning organisation, empowering and educating people to work and live more inclusively. We celebrate people of colour, and people from other underrepresented and marginalised backgrounds. They offer a range of training course that focus on unconscious bias.
- Race on the Agenda (ROTA) An organisation founded in 1984 to research racism in the UK. They produce a range of publications dealing with BAME educational experiences.
- Runnymede Trust Runnymede is the UK's leading independent race equality think tank. They generate intelligence to challenge race inequality in Britain through research, network building, leading debate, and policy engagement.
Chat
News
Hearing from our BAME colleagues in the Midlands
NHS England and NHS Improvements have organised an online discussion in relation to the challenges BAME staff have working within the NHS and the social care section. To register for this free event on 30th October 2020 between 11.00am and 12.15pm click here.
HSJ recently published "The 50 most influential BAME people in health". To access the full text you will need to register for free here. (8th October 2020).
E-Books
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Proquest have made available a collection of resources on the topic. Visitors to the site will find books, articles, newspaper cuttings and more on the topic. Click here to access the resource
Black Lives Matter (Springer ebook collection)
Mind the Gap: A handbook of clinical signs in Black and Brown skin.
Published by St George University of London, this e-book attempts to bridge the gap in medical education around signs and symptoms in Black and Brown skin.
Books
Black Lives Matter (HHE Knowledge for Healthcare)
HHE KfH have put together a reading list. Topics include:
- Anti-racism and anti-blackness
- Healthcare and the NHS
- People and organisations
The list includes long and short reads. There area also podcasts and articles included in the list.
BASE Library Network
The BASE Library network provides access to books located at the Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust and all BASE library members. The reading lists below provide access to the book stock across the BASE library network on specific areas of EDI.
Books can be reserved and collected from RWT Library and Knowledge Hub at New Cross Hospital. The library will notify you when they are ready for collection.
E-Journal Article Collection
Springer Journal Collection on Black Lives Matter
To complement the book collection, Spriner Nature have also made available a collection of journal articles. Topics include:
- Social inequality and systemic racism
- Policing race and civil unrest
- Gender
- Racism and oppression
- Health disparities
- Stories from black women in research
To browse the collection, click here.
E-Journals
The following journals are available as full text access. They may include an embargo period and if you require an article that is not available please complete a Document/Article request form in the left hand column. You May also have to access the full text via a current OpenAthens account.
- Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology Publishes theoretical, conceptual, research & case study articles that promote the development of knowledge & understanding, application of psychological principles & scholarly analysis of social-political forces affecting racial/ethnic minorities. Published by the American Psychological Association. ISSN 1099-9809, 1939-0106
- Equality, Diversity and Inclusion: An International Journal
Recently Published Reports
- Ambitious for change: research into NMC processes and people's protected characteristics. This is a key part of the professional regulator’s research into how a person’s protected characteristics, like gender, ethnicity or age, affects their experience of NMC processes. The research examined NMC processes - including education, overseas registration, revalidation and fitness to practise - and has identified disparities in people’s experience and outcomes, depending on who they are.
- A long way to go: ethnic minority NHS staff share their stories. This article explores people's experiences of racism and discrimination and may be distressing or triggering. If you've been affected by any of the issues raised in this article, we’ve put together a list of organisations that can offer advice, information and support.
- NHS People Plan Inclusive recruitment: opening the door to diverse communities. This guidance pulls together a suite of information, tools and resources NHS Employers can offer as a starting point to help you meet some of the actions of the NHS People Plan around recruitment found in Belonging to the NHS and Growing for the Future. This resource will help you to navigate some of the support available to you in the delivery of this agenda.
- Workforce race inequalities and inclusion in NHS providers. The NHS has one of the most ethnically diverse workforces in the public sector. However, year after year, ethnic minority staff report worse experiences in terms of their lives and careers, when compared with white staff and people from an ethnic minority background are under-represented in senior positions in the NHS.
- Excluded on the frontline This report presents findings of a survey jointly conducted by The Grey Area and Muslim Doctors Association & Allied Health Professsionals. The survey aims to capture the experiences of Muslim Healthcare Professionals (HCPs) working in the NHS and has evidenced the prevalence of discrimination, racism, and Islamophobia.
BAME Community and Covid-19
- Perspectives from the front line:The disproportionate impact of COVID-19 on BME communities. Published by the NHS Confederation BME Leadership Network, December 2020.
- BAME underrepresentation in clinical trials. Despite the diversity of patient populations in the UK, underrepresentation of BAME individuals persists in clinical trials. Nasa-Marie Wright discusses these disparities and suggests strategies to improve minority representation.
- Covid-19 and the risk to black, Asian and minority ethnic women during pregnancy. Black, Asian and minority ethnic (BAME) women in the UK have increased maternal mortality rates compared to other groups of women. Unfortunately, according to preliminary findings, the COVID-19 pandemic has contributed to mortality rates for BAME women, raising concerns that pregnant BAME women are facing greater health disparities during the pandemic. A review of 427 pregnant women admitted to hospital in the UK with confirmed COVID-19 infection found that over half (56%) were from black or other ethnic minority groups. How BAME women navigate maternity services during the COVID-19 pandemic requires a vigilant review of their needs on an individual basis. This is particularly relevant for hard-to-reach women, such as recent immigrants and asylum seekers, who may encounter difficulties accessing or engaging with maternity services. Therefore, it is imperative to reassess and highlight the challenges faced by pregnant BAME women during the pandemic. The disruption of maternity services and diversion of resources away from essential pregnancy care because of prioritising the COVID-19 response is expected to increase risks of maternal mortality.
- Covid-19 racial disparities in testing, infection, hospitalization and death: analysis of epic patient data. This analysis builds on a continually growing body of research on racial disparities in COVID-19 by examining testing, infection, hospitalization, and death by race and ethnicity among patients in the Epic health record system
- Analysis of Epic Electronic Health Record Data Shows People of Color Fare Worse than White Patients at Every Stage of the COVID-19 Pandemic, Including Higher Rates of Infection, Hospitalization and Death. People of color were more likely to test positive for COVID-19 and to require a higher level of care at the time of diagnosis compared to White patients, according to a new analysis from Epic Health Research Network and KFF. They also were more likely to be hospitalized and die from the novel coronavirus than White patients were. The racial disparities in illness and death are not fully explained by differences in underlying sociodemographic characteristics and health conditions, finds the study, which analyzed Epic electronic health record data for roughly 50 million patients from 53 health systems representing 399 hospitals across 21 states. The findings suggest that people of color may face increased barriers to testing that contribute to delays in obtaining testing until they are in more serious condition compared to White patients. They also demonstrate that people of color are bearing a disproportionate burden of negative health outcomes related to the COVID-19 pandemic at every stage – risk of exposure, access to testing, severity of illness, and likelihood of death
- BAME COVID-19 deaths - what do we know? rapid data and evidence review Evidence indicates markedly higher mortality risk from COVID-19 among Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) groups, but deaths are not consistent across BAME groups. Similarly, adverse outcomes are seen for BAME patients in intensive care units and amongst medical staff and Health and Care Workers. The exact reasons for this increased risk and vulnerability from COVID-19 in BAME populations are not known. There may be a number of contributing factors in the general population such as overrepresentation of BAME populations in lower socio-economic groups, multi-family and multi-generational households, co-morbidity exposure risks, and disproportionate employment in lower band key worker roles. For Health and Care workers, there are increased health and care setting exposure risks.
- CGC publishes data on deaths in care settings broken down by ethnicity. The information that care homes submit to CQC about the deaths of people in their care is published on a weekly basis as part of the Office for National Statistics (ONS) reporting on deaths. The ONS data is not routinely broken down by ethnicity.
- What is the evidence on ethnic variation on COVID-19 incidence and outcomes? This rapid evidence review involves two elements: an analysis of intensive care data (INARC, 2020) and a rapid literature review. Our analysis of ICU data found evidence that, when compared to the general population, BAME people are more likely to be admitted to ICU. When compared to ICU patients in the UK with white ethnicity, BAME people are more likely to require renal support and advanced respiratory support and are more likely to die. Findings were similar when the analysis was restricted to patients of Asian or Black ethnicity. These differences were highly statistically significant. Longitudinal UK Biobank evidence (Niedzwiedz et al, 2020) found that BAME people were more likely to have confirmed infection and to be admitted to hospital compared with white British people.
- Racial disparities in COVID-19: key findings from available data and analysis. Over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, there has been a growing focus on its disproportionate impacts on people of color, particularly as availability of data to understand racial disparities has increased. This brief summarizes key findings from data and analyses examining COVID-19 related cases, deaths, hospitalizations, and testing by race and ethnicity as of early August 2020 to provide increased insight into these disparities.
New Books Added to Stock
To reserve a copy of a book you will need a current BASE library membership card. Click on the blue hyperlink in the title, you will then be able to reserve a copy.
The leader's guide to unconscious bias: how to reframe bias, cultivate connection and creae high performing teams. by Call Number: WX 422ISBN: 9781471195907Publication Date: 2021
Biased: uncovering the hidden prejudices that shape our lives. by Call Number: WX 422ISBN: 9781786090195Publication Date: 2020
New Fiction Books Added to Stock
Our current fiction stock (all donated by trust staff) does not currently reflect the cultural diversity of our geographical footprint. If you have any fiction books that you are willing to dontate to the library, they would be more than weclomed.
Weekly Equality and Diversity Bulletin
The Equality and Diversity Bulletin is produced by Bertha A Calles Cartas at Mid and South Essex University Hospitals Group. She as kindly agreed for us to upload the bulletin onto our webpage.
If you would like to receive your own personal copy email the library. They can add you to the circulation list.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 30 Week ending 21st May 2021.
- COVID-19 Evidence Update Issue 29 Week ending 12th March 2021
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 28 Week ending 1st March 2021.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 27 Week ending 5th February 2021.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 26 Week ending 21st January 2021.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 25 Week ending 8th January 2021.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 24 Week ending 11th December 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 23 Week ending 28th November 2020
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 22 Week ending 20th November 2020
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 21 Week ending 13th November 2020
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 20 Week ending 6th November 2020
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 19 Week ending 29th October 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 18 Week ending 23rd October 2020/
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 17 Week ending 16th October 2020
- Equaltiy & Diversity Bulletin Issue 16 Week ending 9th October 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 15 Week ending 29th September 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 14 Week ending 21st September 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 13 Week ending 11th September 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 12 Week ending 4th September 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 11 Week ending 27th August 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 10 Week ending 20th August 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 9 Week ending 13th August 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 8 Week ending 7th August 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 7 Week ending 30th July 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 6 Week ending 23rd July 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 5 Week ending 16th July 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 4 Week ending 4th July 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 3 Week ending 3rd July 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 2 Week ending 26th June 2020.
- Equality & Diversity Bulletin Issue 1 Week ending 23rd June 2020.
Videos and Podcasts
- COVID-19 series: resources on BAME healthcare. The RSM COVID-19 Series is dedicated to giving healthcare workers on the frontlines regular and easy-to-access updates from healthcare leaders on COVID-19. Chaired by leading experts, the webinars discuss different topics and challenges that healthcare workers, leaders and the public are facing, and how we are responding.
- Professor David Williams on racism, discrimination and the impact they have on health. How do our life experiences shape our health? What can we do to tackle social inequalities? Helen McKenna spoke with Professor David Williams from Harvard University about his research into the social influences on health and the interventions that could make a difference.
- Race equality in the NHS workforce What can be done about race inequality in the NHS workforce? How can we ensure representative leadership happens? Helen McKenna talks with Yvonne Coghill, Director at NHS England Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES); Dionne Daniel, Project Lead, Nursing Workforce Remodelling Research Project; and Ben Morrin, Director of Workforce at University College London Hospitals.