RWT Library & Knowledge Services: E-Books

5th edition of Oxford Handbook for the Foundation Programme

Now in its tenth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine has been fully revised, with five new authors on the writing team bringing content fresh from the bedside. Space has been breathed into the design, with more core material at your fingertips in quick-reference lists and flow diagrams, and key references have been honed to the most up-to-date and relevant. Each page has been updated to reflect the latest changes in practice and best management, and the chapters on gastroenterology, history and examination, infectious disease, neurology, and radiology have been extensively revised. Unique among medical texts, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine is a complete and concise guide to the core areas of medicine that also encourages thinking about the world from the patient's perspective, offering a holistic, patient-centred approach. Loved and trusted by millions for over three decades, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine continues to be a truly indispensable companion for the practice of modern medicine.

With a brand new team of expert authors, the second edition of the central series title the Oxford Handbook of Adult Nursing has been completely rewritten for today's nurse. Brought fully up to date with the latest nursing competencies and professional knowledge, it ensures you have everythingyou need to deliver appropriate nursing care and interventions. Designed to reflect the NMC nursing competencies, it covers key nursing values and standards, communication, clinical practice and decision making, and professional development.The Oxford Handbook of Adult Nursing is written by nurses, for nurses, to provide concise, practical, and expert advice on all aspects of the nurse's role. Designed as a comprehensive and reliable guide to the care of adults, this new edition reflects how nurses relate to patients, engage criticallywith professional knowledge, and organise and deliver appropriate nursing care and interventions. With concise and comprehensive summaries of key nursing values and communication skills when dealing with diverse clinical populations, the role of the nurse is fully detailed as a provider of clinicalcare, as well as a leader, manager, and member of a broad multidisciplinary team. Clinical nursing practice is addressed using a systems-based approach, providing an overview of clinical conditions, investigations, and treatments, including frequently prescribed medicines, while highlighting keynursing practice considerations.Each chapter of the handbook lists useful sources of further information, primarily easily-accessible on-line resources. To help you achieve the best possible results for your patients, the authors offer a wealth of recommendations, guidance and information from their years of experience.Together with the complementary Oxford Handbook of Clinical Skills in Adult Nursing, this handbook provides nursing students and general adult nurses with a robust framework for thinking about, and practicing, safe and compassionate, values based nursing. Whether the reader needs a comprehensiveintroduction to adult nursing or a reliable resource to dip into when the need arises, the Oxford Handbook of Adult Nursing will be an invaluable companion for years to come.