Databases
RWT Staff and students on placement have access to a number of important databases, brimming with evidence-based information! . Please note that you will need an Open Athens Login before you can search the available databases
See below for a handy list of databases available to use in HDAS, and what they can offer you:
- AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine: subjects include complimentary medicine, occupational therapy, palliative care, physiotherapy, podiatry, rehabilitation and speech and language.
- BNI: British Nursing Index: subjects include the practice, education and research for nurses, midwives and other health professionals in the UK.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: aimed at nurses, educators, allied health professionals and students, this database contains journals pertaining to nursing and allied health practices.
- EMBASE: Excerpta Medica Database: subjects include biomedicine and pharmaceuticals.
- HMIC: Health Management Information Consortium: holds the databases of two UK health organisations; the Department of Health and the King's Fund. Subjects include official publications and grey literature relating to health and social care.
- Medline: Medline is a popular choice among searchers. It has a vast and varied database with every possible known subject on health available. If in doubt, use Medline!
- PsycINFO: Psychology and Allied Fields: subjects include behavioural and social sciences, and psychology.
- PubMed: this is a well-known general medical database. However, be careful when using this one, as you can't use limitations on your search!
Accessing other core databases
- The Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Trip Database Trip medical database, a smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence.
Search PubMed (with full text links)
OVID Databases - requires an Open Athens account to search
Search Ebsco CINAHL - requires an Open Athens account to search
Registering for an NHS Open Athens account
Open Athens Registration
Why is an Open Athens account vital?
- Provides access to licensed online tools and resources for NHS staff to access important knowledge tools such as e-books, e-journals and clinical databases
- Supports clinical and management decision making
Can I register for an Open Athens account?
- Click here for information as to who can register - https://www.nice.org.uk/about/what-we-do/evidence-services/journals-and-databases/openathens/openathens-eligibility
How can I register?
- Click here to complete the self registration form (please use your NHS net/university e-mail/NHS organisation e-mail account) - https://openathens.nice.org.uk/
Need help?
The Library and Knowledge Service will provide any assistance required in using and searching online databases. Although the HDAS databases are similar to search there are subtle differences in the functions available in each database, and if you would prefer to search PubMed or the database housed on a vendors website such as Ebsco, OVID or Proquest we would advise contacting a Knowledge Specialist to arrange a tutorial.