How the Library & Knowledge Service supports Junior Doctors
The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust provides a valuable and important service in supporting junior doctors. This page provides advice in how to register for services and understand the many tools (books, e-books, e-journals, databases etc) available to assist with decision making and CPD. We also have a large collection of exam revision books and we are now prioritsing access to e-books.To be able to access the Trust's online knowledge tools you must have an NHS Open Athens account. Please see information on this page about registering. If you have an existing account you can transfer this to Royal Wolverhampton by accessing your account and selecting Change Organisation. If you have a problem with this please contact the Library & Knowledge Service team on 01902 695322.
To loan books you must formally register for a HeLM Library account. This is a network of health libraries covering the Birmingham, Solihull and Black Country area.
We strongly recommend that you register with KnowledgeShare (an online current awareness service available via Open Athens) and also set up an UptoDate personal account, which enables you to download and use UpToDate via a mobile app.
If you require support please use the chat facilities available or call into the library in building 11 to speak to a member of the Library & Knowledge Service's team.
So please ensure that you have set up;
- An Open Athens Account
- Registered for the Library Service
- Set up access to UpToDate and KnowledgeShare
Registering for an NHS Open Athens account
Open Athens Registration
Why is an Open Athens account vital?
- Provides access to licensed online tools and resources for NHS staff to access important knowledge tools such as e-books, e-journals and clinical databases
- Supports clinical and management decision making
Can I register for an Open Athens account?
- Click here for information as to who can register - https://www.nice.org.uk/about/what-we-do/evidence-services/journals-and-databases/openathens/openathens-eligibility
How can I register?
- Click here to complete the self registration form (please use your NHS net/university e-mail/NHS organisation e-mail account) - https://openathens.nice.org.uk/
Joining the Library
Joining the library
Who can join the library?
- Anyone working for Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust
- Students on placement with the organisation
- GPs and practice staff employed by Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust
Why should I join?
- Access all library services including document ordering and literature search service
- Obtain a library card which can be used to reserve books from other library services in the HeLM Library network
- Place requests for research articles via the BASEdoc system. This requires a HeLM Library membership card
How to register
- Click on this link and complete the online registration form for HeLM Library membership -
- or complete a paper form available via the Bell Library Enquiry Desk
Click on the FAQs below for further advice on loaning items from the library
E-Books for Junior Doctors
Oxford Handbook for the Foundation Programme
5th edition of Oxford Handbook for the Foundation Programme
