Oxford Medicine Online
Oxford Medical TextBooks and Handbooks available online
Health Education England have announced a 3 year contract to provide access to 136 Oxford Handbooks and Textbooks to NHS England staff. This includes the Oxford Textbook of Medicine, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine and many other specialist titles.
You will require an Open Athens account to access the titles.
Enter your personal Open Athens account details
Oxford Textbooks - click here
Oxford Handbooks - click here
Books and E-books
These are some of the pathology books in stock at the Bell Library at New Cross Hospital. Click here to view a full list of the titles available. You can view the full catalogue of holdings of all BASE libraries here and you can reserve a book to be sent to the library at New Cross Hospital for collection via your BASE Library account. Log in to it here
Placental and Gestational Pathology by Call Number: WQ 218ISBN: 9781316632536Publication Date: 2018-08-23This concise and comprehensive resource is vital for the pathologist faced with providing accurate, timely, and clinically useful diagnoses for placentas, products of conception, and gravid hysterectomies. Combining the pathologic, research, and clinical expertise of a diverse group of editors and authors from centers of excellence for placental pathology, this book enables easy application of the latest Amsterdam international consensus classification criteria, with cross-references to previous terminology and a pathophysiology-based classification system. It provides complete descriptions and illustrations of diagnostic gross, microscopic, and immunohistochemical findings together with a thorough discussion of potential pitfalls and differential diagnosis. Current theories of the genetic and physiologic basis for disease processes, culminating in placental lesions are discussed. The book features high-quality images and standardized measurement tables to assist real-time diagnoses and provides access to an online version on Cambridge Core, which can be accessed via the code printed on the inside of the cover.
Clinical Biochemistry by Call Number: QU 4ISBN: 9781119248682Publication Date: 2017-10-02Clinical Biochemistry Lecture Notes presents the fundamental science behind common biochemical investigations used in clinical practice. Taking a system-based approach, it explores the underlying physiological rationale for tests, with each test explained within the context of disruption by disease. It also explores the value and limitations of biochemical investigations, while helping readers to quickly develop the knowledge and skills required to select the appropriate investigations for diagnosis and management, and to correctly interpret test results. Case studies throughout chapters place the information within a clinical context to further assist readers in the development of test-selection and interpretation skills. Key features include: A comprehensive, yet concise overview of the science behind common biochemical investigations Helps readers rapidly acquire a fully integrated, practical understanding of biochemical diagnostics Full-colour flowcharts and algorithms detailing the rationale for tests, the biochemical processes involved, and test procedures, for quick comprehension and reference More clinical cases demonstrating application to practice Now in its tenth edition, this classic introductory, reference, and revision text is indispensable to medical students, and all those who want to quickly acquire a practical understanding of the scientific principles underpinning biochemical tests and a working knowledge of test selection, test procedures, and the interpretation of results within a clinical context.
Soames' and Southam's Oral Pathology by Call Number: WU 140ISBN: 9780199697786Publication Date: 2018-09-19A sound understanding of clinical oral pathology is essential if a dental clinician is to navigate successfully through clinical guidelines, make timely referrals to specialists, and provide good care for patients. This new edition of Soames' & Southam's Oral Pathology provides a clear and friendly guide for students, practitioners, and the whole dental team. Thoroughly updated for today's clinical practice, this textbook covers 'must-know' oral pathology and integrates key aspects of oral medicine. It begins by explaining the principles of clinical assessment, the synthesis of a differential diagnosis, and the selection of further investigations including laboratory tests. Ten chapters bring this theory to life by looking at the clinical and pathological features of a wide range of common oral diseases including oral cancer, salivary gland disorders, and diseases of the jaws. Two new chapters address skin diseases affecting the oro-facial region and neck lumps. A final chapter highlights the importance of clinical oral pathology in the context of systemic human disease. New radiology content includes examples of cross-sectional imaging. Photomicrographs have been replaced with carefully selected images to illustrate key pathological features. Each chapter includes key points boxes and tables to aid learning. Written by experts in both oral pathology and oral medicine, this new edition is a must-have for dentistry students, and those working in the field, providing current and trustworthy information.
The Library & Knowledge Service has access to a growing range of e-books. These are available for access via PCs and mobile devices and provide a flexible method of accessing content quickly.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Pathology 2e by ISBN: 9780198759584Publication Date: 2017-11-07Now in its second edition, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Pathology is the concise and rapidly accessible guide to general pathologic principles, and the pathology behind common and important conditions across all the major medical and surgical specialties. Fully updated and now including abrand new chapter on head and neck pathology, this book continues to be the definitive resource for medical students and doctors with an interest in this important specialty.Authored by leading experts, The Oxford Handbook of Clinical Pathology uses the best-selling Oxford Handbook format to cover macroscopic and microscopic features alongside immunohistochemical and molecular pathology in a succinct and practical style. This edition is fully illustrated and nowincludes over new 50 full colour images and staging information for major malignancies to aid the reader and to explain the pathology of common conditions. This handbook continues to be an indispensable resource in the field for medical students, trainees, and biomedical scientists.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Immunology and Allergy by ISBN: 9780198789529Publication Date: 2019-12-30This new edition of Clinical Immunology and Allergy is a practical and clinically based guide for clinicians and laboratory staff to aid diagnosis and management of immunological and allergic disease, and provides examples of the correct selection and interpretation of immunological tests for a wide range of conditions. Fully updated from the previous edition, with the addition of new diseases recently identified from the use of genetic testing, and novel biological therapies and autoantibody tests, this title covers the entire breadth of the field, with the information at your fingertips. Split into two sections, the first covering individual diseases and allergies, with diagnosis and management strategies, and the second describing appropriate laboratory tests and their interpretation, the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Immunology and Allergy is an invaluable reference text, and works as a succinct revision guide for the FRCPath in Immunology. Filled with cross-references to create a cohesive overview of a complex subject, and presented in concise bullet-points for detailed direction to the key facts, this handbook provides everything you need to help you in clinical practice.
Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology by ISBN: 9780199671328Publication Date: 2017-02-22Fully reviewed and revised for its second edition, the Oxford Handbook of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology maintains its position as the must-have guide to all aspects of infectious diseases and microbiology. Reflecting the current approach to joint postgraduate training programmes, the handbook takes an integrated approach to both subjects. It covers the basic principles of bacteriology and virology, along with specific guidance on individual diseases and conditions, all in the accessible Oxford Handbook style. Now including new topics on important subjects such as microbiology specimen collection, commonly used media, molecular diagnostics, and antimicrobials in pregnancy, as well as incorporating new guidelines from WHO, NICE, and BASHH among others, this handbook ensures that the informaiton you need is accessible, clear, and easy-to-understand. Practical and comprehensive, this handbook includes coverage of National Frameworks and current legislation, together with information on topical issues such as bioterrorism and preventative medicine. Fully reviewed by specialist senior readers, and with useful links to up-to-date clinical information and online resources, this is an important addition to the Oxford Handbook Series.
The Library and Knowledge Service supports the CPD of staff by providing access to tools and exam revision books. These are selection of what is available in the library at New Cross Hospital, however there are many other books available for reservation from other BASE Libraries.
MRCS OSCE by Call Number: WO 18ISBN: 9781911450061Publication Date: 2017-07-01Presented in a structured question-and-answer format, the first book of this comprehensive reference addresses the revised syllabus of the Membership of the Royal College Surgeons' (MRCS) Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE). Beneficial to MRCS OSCE candidates as well as to surgeons, doctors, and medical practitioners, this didactic guide covers the important aspects of surgical radiology, applied surgical science, critical care, anatomy, surgical pathology, operative surgery, surgical skills, principles of surgery, and patient safety.
