RWT Staff and students on placement have access to a number of important databases, brimming with evidence-based information! . Please note that you will need an Open Athens Login before you can search the available databases
See below for a handy list of databases available to use in HDAS, and what they can offer you:
- AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine: subjects include complimentary medicine, occupational therapy, palliative care, physiotherapy, podiatry, rehabilitation and speech and language.
- BNI: British Nursing Index: subjects include the practice, education and research for nurses, midwives and other health professionals in the UK.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: aimed at nurses, educators, allied health professionals and students, this database contains journals pertaining to nursing and allied health practices.
- EMBASE: Excerpta Medica Database: subjects include biomedicine and pharmaceuticals.
- HMIC: Health Management Information Consortium: holds the databases of two UK health organisations; the Department of Health and the King's Fund. Subjects include official publications and grey literature relating to health and social care.
- Medline: Medline is a popular choice among searchers. It has a vast and varied database with every possible known subject on health available. If in doubt, use Medline!
- PsycINFO: Psychology and Allied Fields: subjects include behavioural and social sciences, and psychology.
- PubMed: this is a well-known general medical database. However, be careful when using this one, as you can't use limitations on your search!