Anaesthetics

Written and edited by experts in the field, the Handbook of Clinical Anaesthesia　provides all the essential practical knowledge required by anaesthetists on co-existing medical conditions, operative procedures, and techniques. The fourth edition retains the concise and comprehensive nature of the third, giving readers all they need to know about each part of the FRCA syllabus in short, digestible, practical entries. 　 The first part covers Patient Conditions; the second Surgical Procedures; and the third Anaesthetic Factors. Each part is subdivided into chapter on each organ system, and each chapter is divided into bite-sized entries. These are in alphabetical order, and cover all common and rare conditions that anaesthetists will encounter within their practice. Avoiding prolonged discussion and multiple references, this is the ideal book to 'dip into' either for specific advice or general education, providing quick and reliable information.　 　 This is the most thorough handbook to cover the entire FRCA syllabus in a consistent and instructive manner. It continues to be accessible and relevant to all anaesthetists from middle grade trainee up to consultant/specialist.　

Sedation is a vital tool for allowing investigations and procedures to be performed without full anaesthesia, but demand for sedation greatly outstrips the supply of trained anaesthetists. Sedation requires care if it is to be used correctly and modern seditionists, including junior doctors in all specialities, medical students, anaesthetists, dentists, and theatre, dental and paediatric nurses, must be able to demonstrate they can practice safely. They need a sound understanding of the basic sciences involved, and an intimate knowledge of the required standards of practice. This book is a first-line educational resource for all those training in the techniques of sedation, and for those already practising who wish to consolidate their knowledge in a structured way.This highly practical handbook is therefore ideal for experienced and novice practitioners alike. It covers basic principles including patient selection and assessment, pharmacology, resuscitation competencies, monitoring equipment and legal issues, and the numerous clinical scenarios bring pertinent issues to life, emphasising the importance of safe practice. It is a unique universal introduction for practitioners from any clinical background.

Returning for its fifth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia has been re-energized by new editors and a specialist contributor team, while still retaining its much-loved, clear and concise style. Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever. This new edition has been completely revised and brings you the most up-to-date guidance and information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of anaesthesia, including a completely revised regional anaesthesia chapter. Now in full colour and packed with enhanced illustrations throughout, including new ECG rhythm strips and illustrations of specialist equipment, the Handbook also includes colour coding for easier navigation. Designed for daily use, this Handbook is your essential companion to anaesthesia, with everything you need at your fingertips whether on the go or for revision.

The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1 is the definitive revision aid to the Primary FRCA structured oral examination. This second edition is revised and updated in line with the new Royal College of Anaesthetists 'Guide to the Primary FRCA', with over 20 new topics to reflect changes to the RCoA's model questions and major revisions to graphs, diagrams and many of the pre-existing sections. Packed with new guidelines and current hot topics, this first volume covers physiology and physics. The nearly 50 physiology topics covered include lung function, hypoxia, acid-base balance, pain pathways, oxygen transport, cerebral blood flow and more. Nearly 30 physics topics are covered including gas laws, oxygen measurement, cardiac output monitoring, safety features of the anaesthetic machine, resuscitation bags and valves, depth of anaesthesia monitoring and more. The second edition of this hugely popular book is improved in clarity and content but stays true to the pragmatic approach adopted by the authors in the first edition.

The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2 is the definitive revision aid to the Primary FRCA structured oral examination. This second edition is revised and updated in line with the new Royal College of Anaesthetists 'Guide to the Primary FRCA', with over 20 new topics to reflect changes to the RCoA's model questions and major revisions to graphs, diagrams and many of the pre-existing sections. Packed with new guidelines and current hot topics, this second volume covers pharmacology, special patient groups and critical incidents in depth. Over 37 pharmacology topics are covered including mechanisms of drug action, dose-response curves, drug interactions, half-life, variations in drug metabolism, opioids, neuromuscular blocking drugs and more. Twelve special patient groups topics are covered including paediatrics, elderly, pregnancy, diabetes, hypertension and more. Over 20 critical incidents topics are covered including aspiration, cyanosis, bradycardia, failed intubation, ST segment changes, hypoxia and more. The second edition of this hugely popular book is improved in clarity and content but stays true to the pragmatic approach adopted by the authors in the first edition.

The Royal College of Anaesthetists has introduced Constructed Response Questions (CRQs) as an innovative way of testing trainees, in the fields of anaesthesia and intensive care medicine, in their final FRCA examinations from September 2019. CRQs are a more structured way of assessing knowledge and understanding; they also assess the application of knowledge, evaluation and judgement. This book categorises 134 questions based on the Royal College model, with six mandatory sections of training and two separate sections on general duties and optional units. In the FRCA exam, there will be a total of 12 questions, one each from the six mandatory units of training (neuroanaesthesia; obstetric anaesthesia; paediatric anaesthesia; pain; cardiac anaesthesia; and intensive care), and six from general duties which may include one from optional unit training (perioperative medicine; regional, orthopaedic and trauma anaesthesia; other topics in general medicine; and optional topics). The answers have been extensively researched from recent BJA Education papers, e-learning, CEPD resources and other vital educational materials. To make it easy for the revising candidate, the questions have been split into their respective subspecialty topics, so the reader can assess their knowledge appropriately in a timely manner. It is an ideal companion for candidates who are preparing for their final exams in anaesthesia and will help to assess their preparation and guide appropriate revision. The topics are pertinent for other anaesthetic exams worldwide, including the European exams, Australian and New Zealand fellowships and the Indian DNB exams. The authors have extensive experience in anaesthetic teaching and lead anaesthetic intermediate teaching in the UK, running regular and successfully attended courses. This book will help candidates to adapt to the recent exam changes and revise in an efficient manner. It will not only be an invaluable educational resource for trainee anaesthetists but also for practising anaesthetists. Medical students and junior doctors, who are about to embark on a career in anaesthesia or intensive care medicine, will also find the book to be a useful educational tool.